Q. What is the Certificate of Completion?

A. The Certificate of Completion is proof that you have successfully completed the online poration of the OHV Safety Course, one step towards obtaining your Massachusetts OHV Safety Certificate.

Q. Who needs the Massachusetts OHV Safety Certificate?

A. An OHV Safety Certificate is required for all recreation vehicle riders in Massachusetts who are under the age of 18. Note - there may be additional restrictions for riders under 18. To learn more, visit the Massachusetts OHV Laws & Regulations page.

Q. What is the advantage of taking the online OHV Safety Course?

A. With the online OHV Safety Course, you will learn all about recreation vehicle safety from the comfort of your own home! Study the narrated, interactive online course then take the visual OHV safety final exam to complete the online portion towards OHV safety certification. Best of all, registration is free and you only pay if you want to obtain Certificate of Completion!

Q. How many images and animations are in the OHV Safety Course?

A. The online study guide contains approximately 200 detailed illustrations, and over 30 interactive exercises that cover every aspect of OHV Safety, from the parts of an OHV to safety gear to basic outdoor survival techniques.

Start the OHV Safety Course Now

Q. How exactly do I complete the online OHV course to get my OHV Safety Certificate?

A. You can obtain your Certificate of Completion in 4 easy steps:

  1. Study the Online OHV Safety Course
  2. Successfully pass each End of Chapter Quiz
  3. Successfully pass the OHV Final Exam
  4. Obtain your OHV Safety Certificate of Completion – Print the certificate right away!

Q. What is the passing grade for the course?

A. You must achieve a grade of 80% (8/10) or higher to pass each chapter quiz. Then you must also achieve a grade of 80% (48/60) or higher to pass the final exam.

Q. What happens if I fail a chapter quiz or the final OHV Safety Exam?

A. No problem! You're here to learn! Simply review your answers and try the quiz or exam again. There are no penalties if you fail, and you can retry at any time. Note, however, that quizzes and final exams are generated at random. When you retry the quiz/exam, you will never see the same exact questions.

Q. How much does the online OHV Safety Course Cost?

A. The one-time course fee is $34.95. The fee includes unlimited attempts at the final exam, as well as printing and shipping of your permanent Certificate of Completion.

Q. Can I take the OHV Safety Course any time? Day or Night?

A. Absolutely! You can take the OHV Safety Course AND OHV Final exam at any time of the day!

Q. Once I'm done with this online course, do I need to take hands-on OHV Training?

A. Yes. As of February 1, 2011, Massachusetts law requires operators under the age of 18 to take an approved recreation vehicle safety and responsibility course. If the operator is under the age of 16, there is one mandatory session that a parent or guardian must attend. Proof of successful completion of the course must be in the operator's possession.

Q. Is there a time limit to complete the online course?

A. You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, courses must be completed within 90 days of payment at which time your access to the course will expire.