Q. What is the Oregon ATV Safety Education Card?

A. The ATV Safety Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed an online ATV Safety Course that is approved by the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department.

Q. Who needs the Oregon ATV Safety Education Card?

A. All operators of Class I and III ATVs must have an ATV Safety Education Card.

Besides completing the online ATV safety course, all riders under the age of 16 are required to also complete additional hands-on training in order to obtain their ATV Safety Education Card.

Note - there may be additional restrictions for riders under 16. To learn more, visit the Oregon ATV Laws & Regulations page.

Q. Is there a minimum age requirement to take the online ATV Safety Education Course?

A. There is no minimum age for taking the online ATV safety course; however the course and exam materials are written at a seventh-grade reading and comprehension level, so we strongly advise that young learners have an adult present to help them go through the course.

Remember, if you are 15 years of age or younger, additional hands-on training is also required.

Q. What is the advantage of taking the online ATV Safety Course?

A. If you are under the age of 50, taking an online ATV safety education course allows you to meet the mandatory online training requirement to operate on Oregon's public lands. With the online ATV Safety Course, you will learn all about ATV Safety from the comfort of your own home! Study the narrated, interactive online course, then take the visual ATV safety exam to get certified. Best of all, registration is free and you only pay if you want to obtain your Oregon ATV Safety Education Card!

Q. How many images and animations are in the ATV Safety Course?

A. The online study guide contains approximately 200 detailed illustrations, and over 30 interactive exercises that cover every aspect of ATV Safety, from the parts of an ATV to safety gear to basic outdoor survival techniques.

Start the ATV Safety Course Now

Q. How exactly do I complete the online ATV course to get my ATV Safety Education Card?

A. You can obtain your Oregon ATV Safety Certificate in 4 easy steps:

  1. Study the Online ATV Safety Course
  2. Successfully pass each End of Chapter Quiz
  3. Successfully pass the ATV Safety Final Exam
  4. Obtain your ATV Safety Education Card (print a temp card right away and get your permanent card in the mail!)

Remember, if you are 15 years of age or younger, additional hands-on training is required. Go to www.oregonohv.org/OPRD/ATV/ to find out more.

Q. What is the passing grade for the course?

A. You must achieve a grade of 80% (8/10) or higher to pass each chapter quiz. Then you must also achieve a grade of 80% (48/60) or higher to pass the final exam.

Q. What happens if I fail a chapter quiz or the final ATV Safety Exam?

A. No problem! You're here to learn! Simply review your answers and try the quiz or exam again. There are no penalties if you fail, and you can retry at any time. Note, however, that quizzes and final exams are generated at random. When you retry the quiz/exam, you will never see the same exact questions.

Q. How much does the online ATV Safety Course Cost?

A. The one-time course fee is $34.95. The fee includes unlimited attempts at the final exam, as well as printing and shipping of your permanent Oregon ATV Safety Education Card.

Q. Can I take the ATV Safety Course any time? Day or Night?

A. Absolutely! You can take the ATV Safety Course AND ATV Certification exam at any time of the day!

Q. Once I'm done with this online course, do I need to take hands-on ATV Training?

A. If you are 15 years of age or younger, additional hands-on training is mandatory. To locate a course near you, please visit www.rideatvoregon.org/training or call the ATV hotline during regular business hours at 877.772.3359. Hands-on training classes fill up fast, so we recommend registering for a class before taking the online course to ensure a spot.

Q. Is there a time limit to complete the online course?

A. You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, courses must be completed within 90 days of payment at which time your access to the course will expire.