Q. What is the Minnesota ATV Safety Certificate?

A. The OHV Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed an ATV Safety Course that is approved by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.

Q. Who needs the Minnesota ATV Safety Certificate?

A. An ATV Safety Certificate is required for all ATV riders in Minnesota who were born after July 1st, 1987 and ride an ATV on public land. Note - there may be additional restrictions for riders under 18. To learn more, visit the Minnesota ATV Laws & Regulations page.

Q. What is the advantage of taking the online ATV Safety Course?

A. With the online ATV Safety Course, you will learn all about ATV Safety from the comfort of your own home! Study the narrated, interactive online course, then take the visual ATV safety exam to get certified. Best of all, registration is free and you only pay if you want to obtain your Minnesota ATV Safety Certificate!

Q. How many images and animations are in the ATV Safety Course?

A. The online study guide contains approximately 200 detailed illustrations, and over 30 interactive exercises that cover every aspect of ATV Safety, from the parts of an ATV to safety gear to basic outdoor survival techniques.

Q. How exactly do I complete the online ATV course to get my ATV Safety Certificate?

A. You can obtain your Minnesota ATV Safety Certificate in 4 easy steps:

  1. Study the Online ATV Safety Course
  2. Successfully pass each End of Chapter Quiz
  3. Successfully pass the ATV Safety Final Exam
  4. If you're 16 years of age or older, receive your OHV Certificate of Completion and self-certify. If under 16 years of age, enroll in a follow-up training course with the MN DNR.

Q. What is the passing grade for the course?

A. You must achieve a grade of 80% (8/10) or higher to pass each chapter quiz. Then you must also achieve a grade of 80% (48/60) or higher to pass the final exam.

Q. What happens if I fail a chapter quiz or the final ATV Safety Exam?

A. You have 2 attempts at the quizzes and final exam. If you fail twice, you will be required to re-study.

Q. How much does the online ATV Safety Course Cost?

A. The one-time course fee is $29.95. The fee includes unlimited attempts at the final exam.

Q. Can I take the ATV Safety Course any time? Day or Night?

A. Absolutely! You can take the ATV Safety Course AND ATV Certification exam at any time of the day!

Q. Once I'm done with this online course, do I need to take hands-on ATV Training?

A. A follow-up training course is only required for youth between ages 6 and 15 and can be booked with the Minnesota DNR. However it is a good idea for all riders, especially new riders, to take a hands-on course. Successfully passing the online course and exam will meet the requirements to earn your Minnesota ATV Safety Certificate.

Q. Is there a time limit to complete the online course?

A. You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, courses must be completed within 90 days of payment at which time your access to the course will expire.