Q. What is the Utah OHV Safety Certificate?

A. The OHV Safety Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed an OHV Safety Course that is approved by the Utah Division of Outdoor Recreation.

Q. Who needs the Utah OHV Safety Certificate?

A. An OHV Safety Certificate is required for all persons in Utah under the age of 18 who ride an OHV on public land. Resident operators 18 years of age or older may only operate an ATV if they have a valid state driver's license or OHV Safety Certificate. Note - there may be additional restrictions for riders under 18. To learn more, visit the Utah ATV Laws & Regulations page.

Q. What is the advantage of taking the online ATV Safety Course?

A. With the online ATV Safety Course, you will learn all about OHV Safety from the comfort of your own home! Study the narrated, interactive online course, then take the visual OHV safety exam to get certified. Best of all, registration is free and you only pay if you want to obtain your Utah OHV Safety Certificate!

Q. How many images and animations are in the ATV Safety Course?

A. The online study guide contains approximately 200 detailed illustrations, and over 30 interactive exercises that cover every aspect of ATV Safety, from the parts of an ATV to safety gear to basic outdoor survival techniques.

Start the ATV Safety Course Now

Q. How exactly do I complete the online ATV course to get my OHV Safety Certificate?

A. You can obtain your Utah OHV Safety Certificate in 4 easy steps:

  1. Study the Online ATV Safety Course
  2. Successfully pass each End of Chapter Quiz
  3. Successfully pass the ATV Safety Final Exam
  4. Download your permanent ATV Safety Certificate

Q. What is the passing grade for the course?

A. You must achieve a grade of 80% (8/10) or higher to pass each chapter quiz. Then you must also achieve a grade of 80% (48/60) or higher to pass the final exam.

Q. What happens if I fail a chapter quiz or the final ATV Safety Exam?

A. No problem! You're here to learn! Simply review your answers and try the quiz or exam again. There are no penalties if you fail, and you can retry at any time. Note, however, that quizzes and final exams are generated at random. When you retry the quiz/exam, you will never see the same exact questions.

Q. How much does the online ATV Safety Course Cost?

A. The one-time course fee is $34.95. The fee includes unlimited attempts at the final exam, as well as printing and shipping of your permanent Utah OHV Safety Certificate.

Q. Can I take the ATV Safety Course any time? Day or Night?

A. Absolutely! You can take the ATV Safety Course AND ATV Certification exam at any time of the day!

Q. Once I'm done with this online course, do I need to take hands-on ATV Training?

A. No. Although hands-on ATV Safety Training is a good idea for all new riders, you are not required to take formal ATV Training in order to obtain your OHV Safety Certificate OR ride on Utah's Public Roads.

Q. Is there a time limit to complete the online course?

A. You can take the online course at any time, day or night. However, courses must be completed within 90 days of payment at which time your access to the course will expire.